Monday, October 12, 2009

Visa-free countries

People from some countries don't need a visa to enter New Zealand. However, they are still required to provide:

* travel tickets or evidence of onward travel arrangements, and
* evidence of funds for maintenance (for more details go to Operations Manual E4.50)

Short visits

If you are visiting for three months or less and are from a country in the list below, you will not need a visa.

Andorra Argentina Austria
Bahrain Belgium Brazil
Brunei Bulgaria Canada
Chile Cyprus Czech Republic
Denmark Estonia* Finland
France Germany Greece*****
Hong Kong** Hungary Iceland
Ireland Israel Italy
Japan Korea (South) Kuwait
Latvia* Liechtenstein Lithuania*
Luxembourg Malaysia Malta
Mexico Monaco Netherlands
Norway Oman Poland
Portugal*** Qatar Romania
San Marino Saudi Arabia Singapore
Slovak Republic Slovenia South Africa
Spain Sweden Switzerland
United Arab Emirates United States of America**** Uruguay
Vatican City

* Visa waiver does not apply to people travelling on alien's (non-citizen's) passports issued by these countries.

** Residents of Hong Kong travelling on Hong Kong Special Administrative Region or British National (Overseas) passports.

*** Portuguese passport holders must also have the right to live permanently in Portugal.

**** Including nationals of the USA.

***** Greek passport holders whose passports were issued on and after 1 January 2006. (Greek passports issued before 1 January 2006 are not acceptable for travel after 1 January 2007).

United Kingdom and Australia

British citizens and other British passport holders who produce evidence of the right to reside permanently in the UK can visit for up to six months without a visa.

Australian citizens and people who hold a current Australian permanent residence visa or a current Australian resident return visa do not need a New Zealand visa to enter New Zealand.

Free Easy Visa Work